FAQs

Last updated 1/11/15, 2/17/17

Click on the number to read the answer or simply scroll down to review the list of questions and answers.

01. What are the “reading tests” embedded in our guidelines, announcements, and readings? Will I be penalized if I submit them late? What is my score? [http://tinyurl.com/ntscldx]
02. When will I receive my scores?
03. How will I receive my scores for the different writing process (WP) activities, review drafts (RDs), and final drafts (FDs)?
04. How do you comment on our papers?
05. What do my scores mean?
06. What should I do if I don’t receive your evaluation of my FD1?
07. Are we allowed to revise and resubmit FDs for a better grade?
08. Can I submit my RD to you for your comments?
09. What should I do about RD comments from classmates that are flat out wrong?
10. How can I set my blog so that only you and my classmates will know about it?
11. How many RDs am I required to evaluate, and how do you score the evaluations?
12. Will I be penalized if my draft exceeds the required word count?
13. What is the time deadline for activities in the schedule?
14. Does the thesis statement have to be in the intro paragraph and can it be longer than two sentences?
15. What should I do if I find a conflict in due dates for a specific activity?
16. How will our FD5/final exam be handled?
17. Do I need to confirm completion of every activity in the schedule?
18. How will my classmates comment on my drafts?
19. Any tips on how to pass the keyword tests that are randomly embedded in the class activities?
20. How do I navigate this blog site?
21. What name should I use when commenting on my classmates’ RDs?
22. In WordPress, how do I add a blank line between paragraphs?


1. Question: What are the “reading tests” embedded in our guidelines, announcements, and readings? Will I be penalized if I submit them late? What is my score?
Answer: Click here.


2. Question: When will I receive my FD scores and comments?
Answer: Click here.


3. Question: How will I receive my scores for the different writing process (WP) activities, review drafts (RDs), and final drafts (FDs)?
Answer: I will email (via hawaii.edu) your scores as I complete them.


4. Question: How do you comment on our papers?
Answer: I will email (via hawaii.edu) my comments and scores on your FDs as I complete them. I indicate the types of problems I’ve found, and your task is to avoid these problems in subsequent RDs and FDs. Persistent or recurring problems are an indication that little or no learning is taking place.


5. Question: What do my scores mean?
Answer: See “Grades – Papers and Scores” in the syllabus.


6. Question: What should I do if I don’t receive your evaluation of my FD1?
Answer: If you’ve followed all guidelines in setting up your blog, posting your FD1, and writing your paper but haven’t received my evaluation report before the FD2 is due, I will give you an extension on the deadline for submitting the FD2. The extension is for 48 hours after I’ve emailed your FD1 report. If you’ve already submitted your FD2, you’ll have the option to post a revised FD2 (labeled “RFD2”) within the 48 hours after I’ve sent your FD1 report. (This option won’t be available for FD3, FD4, and FD5.)


7. Question: Are we allowed to revise and resubmit FDs for a better grade?
Answer: No. If resubmissions were allowed, nearly every student will submit countless drafts for each assignment. I simply won’t have the time to review more than one submission for each assignment. The key is to learn from your mistakes. If I see a definite trend of improvement from paper to paper, I will give you the benefit of the doubt if your final grade is on the borderline.


8. Question: Can I submit my RD to you for your comments?
Answer: No. This would weaken the peer-review procedure. Students will disregard comments from their classmates and pay attention to only mine. This course is designed to give you practice in reviewing drafts according to sets of criteria and guidelines. The theory is that you learn how to review and improve your own drafts by practicing on others’. If time permits, I may email a report to you re types of errors in your RD1.


9. Question: What should I do about RD comments from classmates that are flat out wrong?
Answer: After double checking to make sure that they’re wrong, ignore them.


10. Question: How can I set my blog so that only you and my classmates will know about it?
Answer: See Guidelines for Your Blog Portfolio.


11. Question: How many RDs am I required to evaluate, and how do you score the evaluations?
Answer: See the Checklist for Evaluating Review Drafts: “Complete three RD evaluations. You have the option to do more.” For scoring, click here.


12. Question: Will I be penalized if my draft exceeds the required word count?
Answer: No penalty. But you should try to keep it close (within 250 words). If your paper is much longer, then it might mean that your thesis is too broad and needs to be narrowed. If you encounter this problem in a classmate’s RD, be sure to suggest ways to trim the length.


13. Question: What is the time deadline for activities in the schedule?
Answer: If no specific time is mentioned, then the deadline is midnight.


14. Question: Does the thesis statement have to be in the intro paragraph and can it be longer than two sentences?
Answer: No on both counts. The thesis is usually at the end of the first paragraph. It can be two sentences, but for this course, we’re limiting it to one.


15. Question: What should I do if I find a conflict in due dates for a specific activity?
Answer: When you notice a conflict, assume that the date in the schedule is correct. Also, please inform me immediately via email (jamess@hawaii.edu).


16. Question: How will our FD5/final exam be handled?
Answer: I’ll be posting access to the guidelines for the paper at around midnight, give or take, on the day before the exam. Thus, you’ll have roughly 24 hours to write a paper that’s designed to be completed in two hours. You can submit the paper at anytime — before midnight — on the day of the exam. Most students complete the paper in 1.5-3.0 hours. Thus, even if you have another exam scheduled for this day, you should have plenty of time to complete our paper.


17. Question: Do I need to confirm with you completion of every activity in the schedule?
Answer: No. However, you do need to complete the “FD Log” described in the guidelines for submitting your FD. If this log is omitted from your FD1-FD4, you could lose up to 50 points.


18. Question: How will my classmates comment on my drafts?
Answer: Here are the steps: (1) You’ll post your draft in your blog. (2) You’ll post the URL and title of you draft in our designated Laulima forum. (3) Your classmates will log in to the forum and click on your URL to read your draft. (4) They’ll click on the comment feature at the bottom of your draft and post their evaluations. They’ll insert their names (if they’re logged in as “anonymous”) to receive credit for their work. Your blog must be set to allow anonymous comments.


19. Question: Any tips on how to pass the keyword tests that are randomly embedded in the class activities?
Answer: Carefully review the schedule. Click the links within each activity. Read, carefully. You will see the tests if they’re there.


20. Question: How do I navigate this blog site?
Answer: See the video below.


21. Question: What name should I use when commenting on my classmates’ RDs?
Answer: Use a name that I can easily associate with your name in my grade book. If your name is Robert Jones and you use “localboy” in your comments, I’d have no idea who you are. If there are two or more Roberts, then add the first letter of your last name, e.g., “robertj,” to distinguish yourself from the other “robert.”


22. Question: In WordPress, how do I add a blank line between paragraphs?
Answer: If you’re unable to force a blank line in your draft, switch to “HTML” mode in the composing window. Next insert the HTML code found here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

